Movie Marathon-Finding Dory(2016)

Finally, the time has arrived! I watched the movie, Finding Dory last Friday and it was an unforgettable adventure. I have always loved watching animated movies, especially Disney movies because they hold a very special place in my heart since my childhood!

Storyline: 

Dory is a wide-eyed, blue tang fish who suffers from memory loss every 10 seconds or so. The one thing she can remember is that she somehow became separated from her parents as a child. With help from her friends Nemo and Marlin, Dory embarks on an epic adventure to find them. Her journey brings her to the Marine Life Institute, a conservatory that houses diverse ocean species. Dory now knows that her family reunion will only happen if she can save mom and dad from captivity.

Review:

The whole movie was an emotional journey for me. In the past, as most of you would remember, it was Nemo who got lost. However, this time, it isn’t Nemo but Dory who gets lost in pursuit of finding her family by regaining her memories from the past. During her adventure, she also connects with a friend from the past named Destiny. (But, Dory doesn’t remember her friend because of her short-term memory loss.)
I did cry during few parts of the movie, especially at the end of it. Believe it or not, there are so many life lessons that I’ve learned from watching this movie:
1. Firstly, the importance of family and friends. During your worst or best times, it’s always a good idea to have a support system with you, which of course, is your family and friends.
2. Secondly, never give up on what you love. It is ultimately Dory’s love for her parents that motivated her to go in search of them.
3. Thirdly, there’s always a path to guide you in the right direction. As Dory says, just keep swimming. Don’t get disheartened if you don’t find a solution to your problem right away, give it time and good things will come to you.
4. The effect of harsh words. When Marlin tells Dory that, “Forgetting is what you do best.” Dory takes it to her heart and moves away from the scene as quickly as possible which further leads to trouble. Hence, always be careful of what you speak.
5. Last but not the least, there’s no place like home. 

It doesn’t matter how young or old you are, I’m sure you’ll enjoy watching this movie!
What’s your favorite part of the movie? Let me know in the comments section below. 🙂

-The Jouska

33 comments

  1. kingdomofsequins · June 20, 2016

    I want to take my son to see this but was wondering about the reviews… Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glaiza Binayas · June 20, 2016

    Haven’t seen the movie yet. 😦 You did make a great review though. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Renate · June 20, 2016

    Beautiful post! I’m so jealous you can see it, I have to wait until August (that’s when it will be showing at the cinema) 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 20, 2016

      Thank You! 😀
      Oh, no! Although, it’s better late than never, right? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Renate · June 20, 2016

        Haha exactly, after having to wait all these years some weeks won’t harm!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. proceedwithstyle · June 20, 2016

    Great review! I look forward to seeing it

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rantandraveaboutbooks · June 21, 2016

    I haven’t seen this movie yet, but I’m a big fan of Finding Nemo. I have it in 3D and have watched it more times than I can count. I also have fish tanks in my basement with all the fish from the movie, which makes it even more enjoyable. I’m glad it lives up to the original. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 21, 2016

      Me too! I love Finding Nemo, it always makes me emotional no matter how many times I’ve already seen the movie. Oh, that’s wonderful! 😮
      Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Real Neat Blog Award
  7. Shameeka Alexis · June 21, 2016

    I’m going to watch Finding Dory just for Ellen. Great review, by the way!
    And I’ve nominated you for the Real Neat Blog Award: https://booksoverblumen.wordpress.com/2016/06/21/real-neat-blog-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So great that you loved it. I am eagerly waiting to see it

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I loved Nemo so so much, I’m excited to see that movie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Strictly Lighthearted · June 21, 2016

    An animated movie that makes one cry? Gotta watch this one then … am feeling sorry for Dory already!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 22, 2016

      You should definitely watch it! 😀 Some parts of the movie just make you so emotional…

      Liked by 1 person

  11. irena_bookdustmagic · June 22, 2016

    Now I’m really looking forward to see this movie! Thank you for posting about it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Erica · June 23, 2016

    I just watched Finding Dory last night! I thought that it was a really sweet movie. I really liked some of the throwbacks to the first movie – having the fish from the doctors office was a pretty cute idea! Baby Dory was pretty adorable too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 23, 2016

      Oh, yay! I’m glad you enjoyed the movie. I agree, it was like a major throwback! Absolutely, she’s too cute. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Christina · June 24, 2016

    I watched Finding Dory this past week and loved it. My boyfriend kept laughing at me for crying so much, esp. towards the end. I enjoyed the movie though and am glad that you did as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 25, 2016

      Yay! I’m glad we’re on the same page. Don’t even get me started on how emotional I got towards the end of the movie. Good thing I was wearing a hoodie, haha! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: June’16 Favourites | THE JOUSKA
  15. alexraphael · January 16, 2017

    Really fun movie, with a nice moral.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment