Gone Girl-Gillian Flynn

After hearing a lot of positive reviews about this book, I finally decided to read it! 🙂

Synopsis: (Goodreads)

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

Review:
The author has explicitly displayed the character’s emotions throughout the story. From grief to curiosity to confusion and much more. There’s a personal touch to the way she has written this story because some chapters are in the form of a Diary entry. This story is not about a lovely couple who had a few small bumps in their journey. A brilliantly written and plotted mystery is what it is.  Although there is a hint of humor, the story is solemn in its entirety. What makes this book so interesting is that it will leave the reader confused, surprised, and somewhat entertained. Moving on to the writing style, it’s witty, descriptive, and original. Gillian Flynn has done a great job in making the reader’s feel as though they have lived the story rather than just reading it. Overall, it’s a great Mystery/Thriller book and I would highly recommend it to those who enjoyed reading such book genres.

My favorite quote from the book: 

Oh, and, I haven’t watched the movie yet.
Which one did you like more, the book or the movie? Let me know in the comments section below. 😀

-The Jouska

 

8 comments

  1. Nazmin · May 17, 2016

    I have been dying to read this. I have heard that the film is also good but there is a different twost to it which some found disappointing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · May 17, 2016

      You should read it soon! 🙂
      Oh, I hate it when they give a different plot twist in the films.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nazmin · May 17, 2016

        I hope too, right after I finish Maze Runner which I have been stuck on for about four months now 😂 yes I know what you mean, it’s so annoying when they change the story for the film

        Liked by 1 person

      • thejouskablog · May 17, 2016

        Ah! Maze Runner is a good book. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Fatima @ NoteablePad · May 17, 2016

    I haven’t read the book but the movie is amazing! This is definitely on my tbr list 🙂 great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · May 17, 2016

      Thank You! Yeah, you should read it soon. I’ve heard mixed reviews about the film, but I’ll probably watch it during the weekend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Fatima @ NoteablePad · May 17, 2016

        The plot twist surprised me a lot more than it might surprise you because I haven’t read the book. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • thejouskablog · May 17, 2016

        Yeah, true. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment