ARC Review: Follow Me Back by A.V. Geiger

follow-me-back

Source: NetGalley

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Release Date: June 1, 2017

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…
Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.
When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…
Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts, Follow Me Back is the first book of a new duology. Written for the online generation, this thriller will keep you guessing right up to the shocking end.

Rating (Goodreads): 4.3 stars/5

Review:

The plot of this story was unique and very different from the books I usually read. What I loved most about the plot is that it was filled with suspense and mystery which motivated me to read more and more until I found out what truly happened. With every chapter, the tension kept increasing and with it, the excitement and thrill doubled. The main characters, Tessa and Eric, were portrayed in a very realistic manner. I also liked the way the tweets were shown because it showed how connected they were while being apart from each other. This may seem weird, but I actually enjoyed reading the police transcripts that were in between some chapters. Apart from being mysterious, the book also had an edge of romance in it which was okay, but I didn’t quite enjoy it as much as the element of suspense. Also, I think the book tries to convey the message of being conscious when one uses any sort of social media. Overall, the book was a good read and I would recommend it to readers who are looking for something new and exciting!

My favourite quote from the book:

“Everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about. Be kind. Always.”

Thanks to Sourcebooks Fire and NetGalley for the ARC of Follow Me Back in exchange for an honest review. 

What are your thoughts on Follow Me Back? Let me know in the comments section below. 😀

thejouska-2

Twitter | Instagram

6 comments

  1. YAandWine · January 14

    Oh my gosh, I’m so much more excited to read this now! And there are police transcripts?! Awesome! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · January 14

      Haha, I’m glad to hear that. Yes, those were so exciting to read! I hope you enjoy reading the book. Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. K.M. Sutton · January 14

    The book sounds really interesting and I love that quote! Thanks for the suggestion beauty! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · January 14

      It’s very interesting! Me too, it’s a simple yet meaningful quote. You’re welcome! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads · January 14

    I haven’t heard of this before, but I’m totally adding this to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

