Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

I recently re-read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and I realized that I hadn’t written a review on this book yet. So, here goes! 

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.
Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…
But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to. Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.
For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Rating (Goodreads): 4.2 stars/5

Review:

Fangirl always cheers me up, seriously! Rainbow Rowell always makes her plot and characters seem so realistic. From the very beginning to the very end, it felt as if I was taken into another world. The story starts off with Cath and her twin sister, Wren entering a new journey of their lives at the University of Nebraska. While Wren goes out and parties every day, Cath prefers to sit in her room writing Carry On, a fanfiction based on Simon and Baz. Even though Cath doesn’t enjoy being in the presence of strangers, she meets some pretty interesting people. And, that’s a good thing! I know there are a few people out there who haven’t read this book yet, and for their sake, I’m not going to spill out any fascinating details. Moving on to the character portrayal, the author has vividly portrayed the lives of all the characters which makes the readers feel as if they were witnessing them in reality. All of the dialogues, relationships, and emotional moments between the characters add up to the strikingly picturesque element of the book. Moreover, the author’s seamless and easy flowing writing is what impresses me the most. It’s surprising how a book can be so much fun to read in its simplicity.

My favourite quote from the book:

Image result for fangirl quotes rainbow rowell

I would definitely recommend this book to YA lovers!
What are your thoughts on Fangirl? Share your opinion with me in the comments section below. 🙂

thejouska-2

26 comments

  1. sue's reading corner · September 15, 2016

    I’m glad you liked Fangirl! I read it a few years back and loved it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books · September 15, 2016

    I loooove this book as well! Glad that you loved it too! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aleeha · September 15, 2016

    Ever since Zoe/Zoella mentioned this in her video, I’ve been wanting to read this book! I will definitely be picking a copy of this book up soon!
    Aleeha xXx
    http://www.halesaaw.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · September 15, 2016

      Oh, you should definitely give this book a read! I’m sure you’ll love it. 😀

      Like

  4. Jasmine · September 15, 2016

    Glad you enjoyed the book. I need to give it a go again. I read it but was not too interested in it and never finished it.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Beth (Reading Every Night) · September 15, 2016

    Great review! This is one of my favourites books and it always cheers me up as well whenever I pick it up. I loved Cath and her journey from the start to the end of her first year at uni! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · September 16, 2016

      Thank you! I’m so glad to hear that. Me too, the author has done a great job in portraying the journey of all the characters. It’s a lovely book with a simple message about life! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo · September 16, 2016

    This one is one of my all time favorite contemporaries and, like you, it always cheers me up! Cath is one of the few characters who I’ve really related to on a personal level, that’s another reason I love it so much. It really is a fantastic book! Lovely review. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · September 16, 2016

      I’m so glad to hear that! Me too, the author has done a great job in bringing out the individual personality of all the characters. It’s a lovely book with a simple message about life. Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. theorangutanlibrarian · September 16, 2016

    Ahh I really want to read this cos I loved carry on and this just makes me want to try it more!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. my valiant soul · September 16, 2016

    I’ve read it and it’s a delight to read such perky books.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Zainab Sheikh · September 16, 2016

    This book is so so good. I think it’s Rainbow Rowell’s best work.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Renate · September 18, 2016

    I really liked this book, it’s very unique and Rainbow Rowell is just an amazing writer (have read some other of her books)! However, something that I really didn’t like about this book was the fan-fiction part, I found that quite boring tbh. Overall a great book and you did a great review!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · September 18, 2016

      I’m so glad to hear that! She’s definitely written some great books. Yeah, I’ve heard that from a few readers as well…
      Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

