My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

MY LADY JANE

Synopsis (Goodreads):

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual historyโ€”because sometimes history needs a little help.
At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems arenโ€™t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

Review:

I know I’ve been saying how much I loved reading this book, but it’s time to write a proper review on it! When I first heard about My Lady Jane, I wasn’t very keen on reading it because I’m not much of a history fan. However, after seeing a whole lot of positive reviews on this book, I decided to give it a shot. (And, I’m so glad that I did!)
The fact that this story is co-written by three talented authors is intriguing, to say the least. This book has the perfect blend of history, romance, humour, and magic. The intense and powerful scenes will have you craving for more, seriously. The story is told from the point of view of three characters, namely: Edward, Jane, and G. When it comes to character portrayal, the authors have done a great job by making use of puns, arguments, and other hilarious statements. To be honest, I felt like the characters were enacting a play right in front of me. The most interesting part of this book is that the story seamlessly flows from one scene to another without any interruption. It’s safe for me to say that this book went way beyond my expectations.

My favourite quote from the book:

“We’d fight much less if everyone would just sit down and read.”

I would definitely recommend this enthrallingย book to all readers looking for a fun, relaxing read that will instantly uplift your mood! ๐Ÿ™‚

-The Jouska

 

19 comments

  1. LairOfBooks · July 25, 2016

    Great review! I LOVED this book in all it’s silliness & hope it’s not the last we see of this collabo of authors ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aria · July 26, 2016

    Ohhhh, this sounds interesting! I’m glad you enjoyed the book! Positive reviews always make me relieved when I feel like picking up a new book.

    On a different note, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · July 26, 2016

      It was a lovely book! You should definitely read it soon. I hope you enjoy it! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Thanks! I’ll check it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks · July 26, 2016

    I received this book in last month’s OwlCrate. I’ve been looking forward to reading it. And Jane gets to be queen. That’s exciting! I was afraid it would stay true to the real story, but that’s good news.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · July 26, 2016

      Oh! You should definitely read it soon. True, the original story has been reinvented in a very creative way. I hope you enjoy it! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beth (Reading Every Night) · July 26, 2016

    Great review! I’m currently reading this book after being largely inflicted by all the positive reviews I’ve been seeing for it. I’m really enjoying it so far, the humour in the story and between the characters as well is brilliant! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · July 27, 2016

      Thank you! Oh, that’s great. I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying the book. Haha, I agree! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  5. theorangutanlibrarian · July 26, 2016

    Ah this sounds so good- I’ve heard only great things about this book so far and your review confirms that it’s a must read! Great post ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mystery Date with a Book · July 26, 2016

    Great review! I’ve seen this book around in different blogs and everyone seems to love it! Maybe that’s a sign I should read it… Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · July 27, 2016

      Thank you! Haha, yeah. You should definitely read it soon. I hope you enjoy it! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Book Fangirling Award | THE JOUSKA
  8. readbyroe · August 5, 2016

    Great review! I got this book from my owlcrate box and it definitely seems very interesting

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

