The ‘I Messed Up’ Book Tag

Hi, everyone! 🙂

messeduptag

Before I start, I would like to thank Ara @Thebookishagenda for tagging me. She posts great book reviews, discussions, and tags. Do visit her blog! 😀

Let’s get started!

  1. A character’s appearance you misread or imagined differently:
    I’ve been racking my brain to think of something because I’m sure there is at least one character that I’ve misjudged in the past.

  2. A character name you’ve been pronouncing differently:
    As a child, I always used to pronounce Hermione Granger as ‘Hermine Granger’ but then I realised that it’s actually pronounced as ‘Her my OH knee- Grain Ger’. Thanks, internet!
  3. An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure:
    Insta-love! Most people hate this overused trope because it’s realistically impossible, and I agree. But, I also find it kind of cute. Insta-love is basically falling in love at first sight.

  4. A cliched character type you enjoy viewing on screen than reading about:
    I’d rather watch a movie or a TV show with a mean girl character instead of reading a book with such a character because I’d probably just skip her part or be disappointed.
  5. A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book:
    The most uncommon word that I’ve learnt from a Shakespearean play is ‘nincompoop’ which translates to a stupid or foolish person.

  6. Have you ever not read or completed a required reading for school?
    Yes, actually. We were assigned to read Three Men In A Boat, and I stopped reading the moment I finished chapter three. I tried my best to read further, but it was just too boring for me.

  7. Have you ever skipped or wanted to skip a chapter from the POV of a character you weren’t interested in?
    I don’t think I’ve ever done that because it’s important for me to read the story from all the characters’ P.O.V. to understand what the author is trying to communicate. And, you never know when a character is about to drop a big clue.

  8. Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?
    Guilty as charged! I’d rather read a good book than going out and not enjoying someone’s company. Now, if I really wanted to go out, then I wouldn’t have even considered the idea of staying home to read a book. 😉

I tag everyone! If in case you decide to do this tag, feel free to let me know in the comments section below. I would love to read your answers! 😀

I hope you enjoyed reading my messed up book moments, haha!  🙂

-The Jouska

25 comments

  1. zoe2600 · June 29

    Name pronunciation – I always pronounced Voldemort vol-deh-mort, it’s not, J.K.Rowling says it’s vol-deh-more

    Liked by 2 people

    • thejouskablog · June 29

      Haha, yeah! I found out about that one a few years ago. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • zoe2600 · June 29

        Yeah, I didn’t understand why in the films, which she helped with, she has let people pronounce it wrong, and only told us after 18 years of publishing the first book 😀

        Liked by 2 people

      • thejouskablog · June 29

        I couldn’t agree more! I was shocked to find out that I’ve been pronouncing my favorite character’s name wrong. 😮

        Liked by 1 person

  2. zoe2600 · June 29

    Voldemort was also one of the more pronounceable names, are you on Pottermore? J.K.Rowling explains how to pronounce a lot of the names such as Beauxbatons which is pronounced bo-batton, I skim read the title and always pronounced it byou-bax-tons 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 29

      Unfortunately, I’m not on Pottermore. But, I’ll surely check it out soon. Haha yeah, french names can be quite confusing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ChicNerdReads · June 29

    I’m horrible at name pronunciation lol

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Great answers! Hahaha I think we’ve all been there with Hermione – I used to pronounce is ‘Hermy-one’ in my head. So embarassing! 😂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Great answers! and some names are just so hard to pronounce or well, not that hard, but sometimes we just imagine it’s different, ahah 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Donna · June 29

    I must have cancelled a thousand social stuff to stay home and read 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nicky M · June 30

    Oh yes indeed, plans have been cancelled. Unless you are a lover of books – you just won’t understand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. haha I made the same mistake with Hermione! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nincompoop 😂😂😂😂 ….

    Liked by 1 person

  10. alexraphael · July 2

    I pronounced Hermione wrong too. I had it as Hermeown. Cool answers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

