Paper Towns by John Green

papertowns

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life–dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge–he follows. After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues–and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

Review:

I’m not going to lie, this is one of my favorite John Green books. One of the main reasons why I love Paper Towns is because of the cleverly written plot. I have never seen a book so engrossing and ridiculously fascinating. Everything about this book screams adventure! Quentin’s boring life is turned upside down when Margo moves in next door. A lot happens between the two of them (Which I won’t specify because I don’t want to spoil it for you). Suddenly, one day, Margo disappears leaving behind clues that no one in their sane mind would’ve thought of. And, guess what? The person who makes an effort to find her is Q and his buddy, Ben. As most of them say, it’s Q’s journey rather than the destination that matters most. The best part about this book is the portrayal of characters and the seamless flow from one scene to another. It felt as if I were observing a teenager living their life. The author tries to go in-depth to bring out the realistic personality of the characters which cannot be seen upfront. Last but not the least, the mysterious spark this book holds cannot be ignored, because it exceptionally intrigues the readers, making them want to read more. Overall, I would highly recommend this book to readers who are up for an adventure.

My favourite quote from the book:

What’s your favourite John Green book? Let me know in the comments section below. 🙂

-The Jouska

21 comments

  1. justgeeklyfab · June 17, 2016

    I still haven’t read this book! But I’m planning to ! I read the Fault In Our Stars, and we all know how great that book is 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aspiringbluecat · June 17, 2016

    This is also my favourite John Green book. I absolutely loved reading it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Renate · June 17, 2016

    I think mine is Looking for Alaska, really good book. Haven’t read this one yet, not actually sure if i’m going to because my friend said it was one of his worse books, but idk…

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 17, 2016

      Oh! I haven’t read that one yet, but I will soon. Don’t worry, I’ve been in that position several times. In my opinion, you should give this book a chance and see for yourself! (You might just be surprised, haha) 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo · June 18, 2016

    Great review! This is my favorite John Green book as well. 😊♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nazmin · June 18, 2016

    Loved this book, but I wasn’t too impressed with the ending tbh

    Liked by 1 person

  6. TeenBookLit101 · June 18, 2016

    I plan on reading this soon

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 18, 2016

      You should definitely read the book! And, tell me how you like it. 😀

      Like

  7. Paper Towns is definitely my favourite John Green book as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Glaiza Binayas · June 19, 2016

    I haven’t read this book yet but I’ve seen the movie. I wonder if they didn’t change anything, like the ending . 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thejouskablog · June 19, 2016

      Oh, I’ve done the opposite of that, haha! I guess we both have something on our to-do list now. 😀

      Like

      • Glaiza Binayas · June 19, 2016

        I don’t know if I’ll still read the book. Haha. Because I want to read a book first before seeing the movie. I don’t like vice versa. XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • thejouskablog · June 19, 2016

        Oh, I totally understand. 🙂

        Like

  9. barkhabale · June 20, 2016

    the book is amazing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

